TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest CTV

Top 5: Goals of 2018

9:00am  Jun 17, 2018

American Pie's day to remember

2:28pm  Jun 12, 2018

AFLW: Four Pies recognised at B&F

Tiarne Swersky  September 12, 2017 9:10 AM

Player of the week: Garner Watch Jasmine Garner's best moments for Victoria in the inaugural AFLW State of Origin game.
Jasmine Garner celebrates after kicking the first goal in AFLW history. Image: AFL Photos.

Jasmine Garner celebrates after kicking the first goal in AFLW history. Image: AFL Photos.

Four Magpies have been named in the VFL Women’s Team of the Year at the competition’s J.J Liston Trophy presentation on Monday night.

Key forward Jasmine Garner (St Kilda Sharks), ruck Emma King (Eastern Devils), defender Melissa Kuys (Box Hill Hawks) and Collingwood’s AFLW captain Stephanie Chiocci (Diamond Creek) were recognised for their impressive seasons with their VFLW sides.

Both King and Kuys finished equal fifth in the Best and Fairest, polling 11 votes apiece, with the Darebin Falcon's Katie Brennan taking out the top honour with 21 votes. 

Garner finished with nine votes, in an impressive season that saw the young forward kick 32 goals, only to be bettered by Diamond Creek’s Chloe Molloy (34 goals).

For Chiocci, the Diamond Creek captain has led her side to yet another Grand Final berth, where the Creekers will meet either the St Kilda Sharks or the Darebin Falcons next week at Etihad Stadium.


Gabrielle Proud (Melbourne University), Nicola Stevens (Melbourne University), Tanya Hetherington (Diamond Creek)
HB: Kaitlyn Ashmore (Melbourne University), Melissa Hickey (Darebin Falcons), Karen Paxman (Darebin Falcons)
C: Emma Kearney (Melbourne University), Brianna Davey (St Kilda Sharks), Richelle Cranston (Geelong)
HF: Lily Mithen (Geelong), Jasmine Garner (St Kilda Sharks), Katie Brennan (Darebin Falcons)
F: Chloe Molloy (Diamond Creek), Darcy Vescio (Darebin Falcons), Sarah Jolly (VU Western Spurs)
R: Emma King (Eastern Devils), Ellie Blackburn (Melbourne University), Daisy Pearce (Darebin Falcons)
Int: Melissa Kuys (Box Hill Hawks), Alison Downie (Diamond Creek), Stephanie Chiocci (Diamond Creek), Jenna Brunton (St Kilda Sharks), Sarah Hosking (Seaford), Ashleigh Riddell (Diamond Creek)


21 - Katie Brennan (Darebin Falcons)
17 - Brianna Davey (St Kilda Sharks)
16 - Emma Kearney (Melbourne University)
13 - Ellie Blackburn (Melbourne University)
11 - Emma King (Eastern Devils)
11 - Karen Paxman (Darebin Falcons)
11 - Melissa Kuys (Box Hill Hawks)
10 - Karen Smith (Eastern Devils)
9 - Sarah Jolly (VU Western Spurs)
9 - Lily Mithen (Geelong)
9 - Chloe Molloy (Diamond Creek)
9 - Jasmine Garner (St Kilda Sharks)
9 - Jenna Brunton (St Kilda Sharks)
9 - Daisy Pearce (Darebin Falcons
9 - Richelle Cranston (Geelong)

The 2017 VFL Women's Team of the Year. Image: AFL Photos.