TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest CTV

Bucks previews Carlton clash

3:41pm  Jun 21, 2018

Top 5: Goals of 2018

9:00am  Jun 17, 2018

VFL Pie rewarded for standout year

Tiarne Swersky  September 12, 2017 11:00 AM

A shining light in our VFL defence Watch VFL coach Jared Rivers and President Marcus Wagner recap and analyse the performances of key players in Saturday's loss to Williamstown at Victoria Park.
Marty Hore flies for a contested mark against Werribee at Etihad Stadium. Photo: Shane Barrie.

Marty Hore flies for a contested mark against Werribee at Etihad Stadium. Photo: Shane Barrie.

Budding defender Marty Hore has capped off a breakout season with Collingwood’s VFL side by being named in the competition’s Team of the Year at the J.J Liston Trophy on Monday evening.

The 21-year-old played 15 matches for the VFL Magpies in 2017, averaging 22 disposals and seven marks.

Before joining Collingwood in 2016, Hore spent time with the Essendon reserves after going undrafted out of the Bendigo Pioneers in the TAC Cup.

And in his second season with the Magpies, the classy left-footer has developed into one of Jared Rivers’ most reliable performers.

Known for his impressive aerial abilities, his precision kicking and his ability to read the play, Hore thrived across the half back flank in 2017.

And it didn’t go unnoticed.

Not only was Hore recognized by the league , but earlier this season, he was invited to October’s AFL RookieMe combine, where he’ll get the chance to showcase his talents alongside the best young footballers in Victoria.

Hore was also nominated for the VFL’s Forthergill Round Medal – awarded to the best up and coming young player in the competition – but Casey’s Bayley Fritsch ultimately took out the honour.


- 15 games (didn’t play the first four of the season)
- Averaged 22 disposals, seven marks
- 254 kicks (seventh in the VFL)
- 103 marks (13th in the VFL)
- 21 contested marks (21st in the VFL)
- 336 disposals (second at Collingwood VFL)
- 75 rebound 50s (fourth in the VFL)


Luke Tynan (Port Melbourne), Sean Gregory (Coburg), Marty Hore (Collingwood)
HB: Brett Bewley (Williamstown), Cam O’Shea (Northern Blues), Damian Mascitti (Port Melbourne)
C: Eli Templeton (Port Melbourne), Matt Hanson (Werribee), James Tsitas (Geelong)
HF: Bayley Fritsch (Casey Demons), Alex Boyse (Essendon), Michael Gibbons (Williamstown)
F: Ben Cavarra (Williamstown), Jordan Lisle (Port Melbourne), Dylan Conway (Port Melbourne)
R: Nick Meese (Williamstown), Andrew Moore (Box Hill Hawks), Willie Wheeler (Williamstown)
Int: Jacob Ballard (Richmond), Adam Marcon (Williamstown), Nick Jamieson (Footscray), Anthony Brolic (Box Hill Hawks), Tom O’Sullivan (Port Melbourne), Liam Hunt (Coburg)
Chris Newman – Box Hill Hawks

Marty Hore tackles Richmond's Ben Lennon at Punt Road Oval. Photo: Shane Barrie.