TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest CTV

Game Day: Get pumped.

3:49pm  Sep 21, 2018

Getting set for Friday night

5:44pm  Sep 20, 2018

The Swoop: Prelim Final edition

2:54pm  Sep 19, 2018

RAW: Buckley looks to Tigers

1:42pm  Sep 19, 2018

Pendles named in Australian squad

October 12, 2017 10:40 AM

First words from new coach The Holden Centre continues to grow. Today on News Daily, we hear from new assistant coach Garry Hocking, and learn more about Collingwood's VFL Women's licence.

Collingwood captain Scott Pendlebury will represent Australia in next month’s International Rules Series against Ireland.

Pendlebury, who represented his country twice in 2008, is the only Magpie named in the initial 17-man squad.

The Australian team is made up of players who have previously been named in the AFL’s All-Australian team at some stage of their careers.

Pendlebury, of course, is a five-time All-Australian, making the elite team in every season between 2010 and 2014.


Scott Pendlebury represented Australia alongside teammate Dale Thomas in 2008.

Australia will host Ireland at the Adelaide Oval on Sunday 12 November and then at Perth’s Domain Stadium on Saturday 18 November.

Ireland currently holds the Cormac McAnallen Trophy after its victory in the one-off Test at Croke Park in Dublin in 2015.

The team will be led by Geelong coach Chris Scott, with his twin, Brad, and Fremantle coach Ross Lyon his support staff.

Australia’s squad
Gary Ablett (Gold Coast)
Eddie Betts (Adelaide)
Travis Boak (Port Adelaide)
Shaun Burgoyne (Hawthorn)
Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong)
Nathan Fyfe (Fremantle)
Brendon Goddard (Essendon)
Toby Greene (Greater Western Sydney)
Michael Hibberd (Melbourne)
Rory Laird (Adelaide)
Zac Merrett (Essendon)
Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood)
Paddy Ryder (Port Adelaide)
Joel Selwood (Geelong)
Rory Sloane (Adelaide)
Chad Wingard (Port Adelaide)
Dayne Zorko (Brisbane)


Nathan Buckley captained Australia against Ireland in 1999.

Collingwood in the International Rules
Since the International Rules series began in 1984, the following Magpies have represented Australia against Ireland:
1990 – Gavin Brown
1998 – Nathan Buckley
1999 – Nathan Buckley (captain)
2002 – James Clement
2004 – Alan Didak
2008 – Scott Pendlebury, Dale Thomas
2010 – Tyson Goldsack, Dane Swan

Meanwhile, in 2010, Marty Clarke (a Magpie between 2007-2009 and 2012-2014) represented Ireland.


Tyson Goldsack tackles Marty Clarke during the 2010 International Rules Series.