Main content

Latest News

Magpies unveil women's coaches

Release: The Collingwood Football Club has unveiled its four women’s team coaches and launched a pioneering female coaching pathway program in the lead up to the inaugural national women’s league kicking off in 2017.

4:44pm  Jul 26, 2016

The stories behind the coaches

Learn more about the coaching panel that will lead Collingwood's national women's league team in 2017.

4:01pm  Jul 26, 2016

Round 23 fixture confirmed

The date and time for Collingwood's round 23 clash with Hawthorn has today been announced by the AFL.

4:00pm  Jul 26, 2016

Scott Burns

Scott Burns, one of Collingwood's favourite sons, returned to the Westpac Centre to join the staff of senior coach Nathan Buckley ahead of the 2014 season.

Burns, who was an assistant coach with West Coast since retiring as a player in 2008, is Buckley’s midfield coach.

The pair shared 14 seasons in Black and White. Together, they led the club on-field for a decade, with Burns succeeding Buckley as captain in 2008.

They worked in centre square tandem, along with Paul Licuria, throughout the late nineties and much of the 2000s and were pivotal to the Grand Final campaigns of 2002 and 2003.

Burns played 265 games and kicked 149 goals across his 14 seasons with the Magpies, twice won the R.T. Rush Trophy for finishing second in the Copeland Trophy count and placed on several other occasions.

He was inducted into the Collingwood Hall of Fame in 2012.

Career Statistics

Playing Career: Collingwood 1995-2008 (265 games, 149 goals).

Honours: Collingwood captain 2008; Collingwood vice-captain 1999-2001; R.T. Rush Trophy (2nd Best and Fairest) 1996, 2002; J.J. Joyce Trophy (3rd Best and Fairest) 2003; 4th Best and Fairest 1999; Darren Millane Perpetual Memorial Trophy 1996, 2004; Collingwood Hall of Fame inductee 2012

Coaching Career: West Coast assistant coach (midfield) 2009-2013; Collingwood assistant coach (midfield) 2014-2015.

Coached By: Leigh Matthews (1995), Tony Shaw (1996-1999), Mick Malthouse (2000-2008).

Coached With: Michael Broadbridge (2009-2010), Daniel Metropolis (2009-2010), Peter Sumich (2009-2010), Gavin Bell (2009-2013), Simon Eastaugh (2009-2013), Phillip Walsh (2009-2013), John Worsfold (2009-2013), Justin Longmuir (2010-2013), Adrian Hickmott (2011-2013), David Teague (2011-2013), Nathan Buckley (2014-2015), Steve Grace (2014-2015), Ben Hart (2014-2015), Robert Harvey (2014-2015), Matthew Lappin (2014-2015), Tarkyn Lockyer (2014-2015), Craig McRae (2014-2015), Anthony Rocca (2014-2015), Dale Tapping (2014-2015).