TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Honour Roll

Collingwood fielded a team in the reserves competition from 1919-1999, and when the VFL competition (comprising of mostly VFA clubs) merged with the AFL reserves at the beginning of the 2000 season, the Magpies opted to field their own stand-alone team.

Coached by senior assistants Michael Broadbridge, Brad Gotch and Dean Laidley, Collingwood flew out of the blocks with a 54-point win over the Sydney-affiliated Port Melbourne at TEAC Oval but by season's end were languishing in 11th place with nine wins.

Despite the mixed on-field results, the VFL team helped in the emergence of future senior players such as Ben Johnson, Rhyce Shaw and Heath Scotland. Several experienced players were a part of the side throughout the year too, including Gavin Brown, Gavin Crosisca, Shane Watson, Stephen Patterson and Ricky Olarenshaw.

At the end of 2000, Collingwood opted to affiliate with the Williamstown Football Club (who had previously been partially affiliated with the Western Bulldogs) for the 2001 season. The alignment continued until the end of 2007 when the Magpies reintroduced their own VFL team with Brown as coach and Paul Licuria the football manager.

After a rough start in 2008, the club's decision to field a standalone VFL team began to pay dividends at by the end of 2009 when it belted premiership contenders Casey and Williamstown at TEAC Oval.

Playing out of Carlton's Princes Park, Brown, Licuria and assistant coaches Alan Richardson and Luke Beveridge unearthed several members of the 2010 AFL premiership team including Dayne Beams, Jarryd Blair, Nathan Brown, Chris Dawes, Brent Macaffer, Ben Reid, Steele Sidebottom and Sharrod Wellingham.

The team went through a transitional year in 2010 as the aforementioned youngsters began to supersede veterans such as Josh Fraser, Tarkyn Lockyer, Paul Medhurst and Shane O'Bree. Other experienced players such as Leon Davis, John Anthony, Anthony Corrie, Ryan Cook and Jaxson Barham spent much of the year playing in the state league, underlining the improvement of the club's younger generation.

While 2010 marked a return to the club's traditional home, Victoria Park, it also signalled the end of Gavin Brown's 26-year career at Collingwood as a player and coach. Brown was headed to Carlton where he joined Richardson as an assistant coach, while Beveridge also left to return to his previous employment.

Season 2011 was challenging for Collingwood's new-look VFL coaching staff comprising of Lockyer, Licuria, Anthony Rocca and Craig McRae with the four trying to manage a side that comprised several skinny first-year players. The VFL listed players performed well, such as Kris Pendlebury, Tom Sundberg and Rob Condy, but the side too often faded late in the match as the bigger bodies of the opposition took control.

The team struggled again in 2012 despite the best efforts of captain Kris Pendlebury, who was named in the Team of the Year and took out the Joseph Wren Memorial Trophy as best-and-fairest. For Collingwood Under 19s player and TAC Cup coach Dale Tapping became coach in 2013 and led the team to its first finals series in three years. Under Tapping, the Magpies beat several of the competition's best teams and pushed the more experienced Port Melbourne all the way in the Elimination Final, only to fade late and lose by 25 points.

The 2015 season was deemed a success, with Tapping leading his side to its first finals victory in seven years. The Elimination Final win over Werribee was followed by a narrow loss to eventual premiers Williamstown.

A year later, the Magpies finished in second place before falling to Footscray in the Preliminary Final at North Port Oval, and they have reached Elimination Finals in their two seasons under coach Jared Rivers.

Club Records

Most Games
Jack Hellier (110)

Most Goals
Chris Dawes (66)

AFL Draftees
Liam Jurrah (Melbourne, 2009), Tom Couch (Melbourne, 2011), Rupert Wills (Collingwood, 2015), Marty Hore (Melbourne, 2018), Tom Jok (Essendon, 2018)

VFL State Representatives
Danny Nicholls (2008), Jarryd Blair (2010), Kris Pendlebury (2010, 2012)

VFL Team of the Year
Tom Sundberg (2011), Kris Pendlebury (2012), Jack Hellier (2013), Ben Moloney (2015), Ryan Pendlebury (2015), Jordan Kelly (2016), Marty Hore (2017), Marty Hore (2018)

Highest Score
26.21 (177) v Casey Scorpions, Elimination Final 2009

Lowest Score
3.10 (28) v Casey Scorpions, Round Eight 2008

Collingwood VFL Honour Roll





Best and Fairest

Leading Goal Kicker



Michael Broadbridge / Brad Gotch / Dean Laidley


Shane Watson

Brad Oborne (20)



Gavin Brown

Nigel Carmody

Justin Crow / Brent Macaffer

Brent Macaffer (38)



Gavin Brown

Damien Peverill

Ryan Cook

Chris Bryan (34)



Gavin Brown

Kris Pendlebury

Tom Young

Scott Reed (38)



Tarkyn Lockyer

Kris Pendlebury

Tom Sundberg

Brett Eddy (21)



Tarkyn Lockyer

Kris Pendlebury

Kris Pendlebury

Caolan Mooney / Jackson Paine (17)

2013 6th Dale Tapping Jack Hellier / Nick Riddle Kyle Martin Jackson Paine (45)
2014 5th Dale Tapping Jack Hellier Kyle Martin Patrick Karnezis (31)
2015 6th Dale Tapping Jack Hellier Ben Moloney Patrick Karnezis (30) 
2016 2nd Dale Tapping Jack Hellier Brent Macaffer Travis Cloke / Jordan Collopy (18)
2017 8th Jared Rivers Jack Hellier Marty Hore Kayle Kirby (43)
2018 5th Jared Rivers Jack Hellier Marty Hore Andrew Gallucci (25)