TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Our AFLW Team: A Short History


2016/17 season
The Collingwood Football Club marked it’s 125th year with the introduction of a women’s AFL team in the inaugural national women’s league, the AFLW.

Collingwood joins Carlton, Melbourne, the Western Bulldogs, Adelaide, Fremantle, Brisbane and Greater Western Sydney as the eight clubs to hold an AFLW license in the first year of the competition.

In a league-first, the club appointed highly respected female footballer Meg Hutchins to the full-time role of Women’s Football Operations Manager to oversee the growth of women’s football at both Collingwood and the grassroots level.

Wayne Siekman was named the team's first senior coach in July, while marquee players Moana Hope and Emma King were signed just hours later.

In October, 19 players joined Collingwood for its first season via the inaugural AFLW National Draft. Melbourne University defender Nicola Stevens was the first Magpie chosen at pick No. 6.

The team's first training session was held on 22 November, with the first official practice match taking place against the Western Bulldogs at the Holden Centre on 26 January.

Collingwood was scheduled to open the new competition against Carlton at Ikon Park on 3 February - a fitting way to begin a new era in the club's 125th year. A capacity crowd of 24,500 watched on as the Blues claimed a 35-point victory. Many fans were locked outside the ground, with AFL CEO Gillon McLachlan personally apologising for not having more seating available.

The Magpies claimed their first ever AFL Women's victory against the Western Bulldogs on February 25, 2017. As historic as the seven-point win was, the moment was slightly soured by a serious knee injury to debutant Kate Sheahan.

Collingwood finished it's debut season just two premiership points out of finals contention, with a record of three wins and five losses. Emma King and Nicola Stevens were subsequently named All Australians, while Steven edged out Alicia Eva and Jessica Cameron to win the club's inaugural Best and Fairest award.

The Collingwood women’s team utilise the club’s $25 million state-of-the art facilities at The Glasshouse as well as the Olympic Park Oval at the Holden Centre, all in the heart of Melbourne’s sporting precinct.

Best and Fairest:
Nicola Stevens (58 votes)
B&F Runner Up:
Alicia Eva (54 votes)
Players' Player Award:
Alicia Eva
Leading Goal Kicker:
Moana Hope