TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

1958 Premiership

Immediately after Melbourne won its third consecutive flag in 1957, there was enormous public debate over whether the Demons could equal Collingwood’s record of four flags in a row (1937-30).

Melbourne was THE team to beat in the ‘50s and, apart from having a star-studded line-up, was coached by football genius Norm Smith. Melbourne topped the 1958 home and away ladder with just three defeats and then thrashed Collingwood by 45 points in the second semi-final. Equalling Collingwood’s proud record seemed a mere formality.

Collingwood might have bounced back to defeat North Melbourne by 30 points in the preliminary final, but while Melbourne was regarded as the near-perfect football team, Collingwood was regarded merely as a modest team of hard-workers.

However, Collingwood’s pride was at stake and every member of the 1958 grand final team promised coach Phonse Kyne to defend the club’s premiership record.

Kyne sensed that Melbourne would be relying enormously on the inspiration of dynamic ruck-rover Ron Barassi and instructed Barry "Hooker" Harrison to play the Demon tight.

Harrison did not allow his Demon rival a centimetre of space and although the Magpies were without injured skipper Frank Tuck, were brilliantly led by vice-captain Murray Weideman. The heavy ground also suited the Magpies and, with every player committed to the cause, Collingwood pulled off the greatest grand final victory for many years.

Collingwood won by 18 points and still holds alone its proud record of four consecutive league flags.

Collingwood 2.2, 7.6, 12.9, 12.10 (82)
Melbourne 5.1, 7.4, 7.6, 9.10 (64)

Goals – Collingwood: Beers 2, Bennett 2, Brewer 2, Merrett 2, Weideman 2, Fellowes, M. Twomey.
Melbourne: Adams 2, Barassi 2, Brenchley, Crompton, R. Johnson, McLean, Ridley.

Best – Collingwood:
Harrison, Merrett, Bennett, Fellowes, Serong, Gabelich.
Melbourne: R. Johnson, Adams, Beckwith, Williams, McLean, Tunbridge.

Crowd: 97,956 at the MCG.

Umpire: Nash.

1958 Premiership Team
B: R. Reeves, H. Sullivan, R. Gabelich
HB: K. Rose, M. Delanty, P. Lucas
C: B. Gray, J. Henderson, K. Turner
HF: B. Beers, M. Weideman (c), W. Serong
F: M. Twomey, I. Brewer, K. Bennett
FOLL: G. Fellowes, B. Harrison, T. Merrett
RES: K. Smale, R. Greve
Coach: Phonse Kyne