Main content

Three Pies to debut

Three debutants named Peter Yagmoor, Jackson Paine and Paul Seedsman will debut for Collingwood on Friday night.
Peter Yagmoor, Jackson Paine and Paul Seedsman will run out on the MCG on Friday night. Photo: Steve Hamilton.
Click here to watch the three debutants speak about the upcoming match on CTV's Official YouTube Account.

Collingwood has named three teenage debutants and a returning Irishman to take on Hawthorn in a round one Friday night blockbuster at the MCG to kick off the 2012 season.

20-year-old Paul Seedsman as well as 18-year-old duo Peter Yagmoor and Jackson Paine will play their first AFL matches.

Martin Clarke, 24, will make his first AFL appearance since round 12, 2009 after spending the past two years back in his native Ireland. He played 46 games for the Magpies from 2007-09.

Of the debutants, Paine is a powerful 191-centimetre key position player who was selected by the Magpies with the 50th overall pick in last year’s draft from Melbourne Grammar School and the Sandringham Dragons under 18 team. He displayed strong hands and a good goal sense during the NAB Cup.

Seedsman is in his second year on the Collingwood list after being drafted with the 76th overall pick in the 2010 draft from Eastern Ranges and Caulfield Grammar. He is an athletic, versatile 189-centimetre midfielder/flanker who averaged 17 disposals and 4.5 tackles per outing for the Magpies’ VFL team in 2011.

Yagmoor, a talented 181-centimetre indigenous player, possesses an excellent left-foot kick and played well in a defensive role during the NAB Cup.

Originally from Cairns in Queensland before moving to St Peters College in Brisbane to complete his schooling, Yagmoor was pre-listed by the Gold Coast Suns before being traded to Collingwood, along with pick 47, in exchange for pick 50 (which was used to select Paine) at the end of 2011. 

Paine, Seedsman and Yagmoor will become the 1093rd, 1094th and 1095th players respectively to represent Collingwood since the inception of the VFL in 1897.

A number of other young and inexperienced players are part of the Magpies’ side, with Alex Fasolo (19 years old, 13 AFL games), Lachlan Keeffe (21, five), Luke Rounds (21, five) and Ben Sinclair (20, four) all named in the 22 to take on the Hawks.

Dayne Beams, Cameron Wood and Tom Young are the three emergencies.

The Magpies will be without captain Nick Maxwell, Chris Tarrant, Alan Didak, Ben Johnson and Nathan Brown, who are all returning to full fitness after injury and expected back in the senior mix in coming weeks. 

The Magpie Army will celebrate Travis Cloke's 150th AFL match when the power forward runs out on Friday night.  It's Cloke's eighth season at the club after a brilliant 2011 taking the most contested marks in the competition.

Sharrod Wellingham has two matches to serve of a club-imposed suspension, while Brent Macaffer and Andrew Krakouer are out indefinitely after undergoing knee reconstructions.

Hawthorn will be without its captain Luke Hodge, who pulled up sore from training on Thursday with a calf complaint. 

Hawthorn v Collingwood
Friday 30 March
MCG, 7.50 pm

Harry O'Brien, Lachlan Keeffe, Heath Shaw
HB: Alan Toovey, Ben Reid, Tyson Goldsack
C: Dane Swan, Luke Ball, Martin Clarke
HF: Dale Thomas, Jackson Paine, Ben Sinclair
F: Travis Cloke, Chris Dawes, Alex Fasolo
Foll: Darren Jolly, Scott Pendlebury, Steele Sidebottom
Int: Jarryd Blair, Luke Rounds, Peter Yagmoor, Paul Seedsman

Emg: Dayne Beams, Cameron Wood, Tom Young

New: Paul Seedsman (Eastern U18), Peter Yagmoor (Morningside (QLD), Jackson Paine (Sandingham U18)

Milestone: Travis Cloke (150 games)

Brent Guerra, Josh Gibson, Jarrad Boumann
HB: Grant Birchall, Ryan Schoenmakers, Benjamin Stratton
C: Issac Smith, Sam Mitchell, Chance Bateman
HF: Shaun Burgoyne, Lance Franklin, Cyril Rioli
F: Luke Breust, David Hale, Jack Gunston
Foll: Broc McCauley, Brad Sewell, Jordan Lewis
Int: Michael Osbourne, Brendan Whitecross, Shane Savage, Matt Suckling

Emg: Xavier Ellis, Jarryd Roughead, Cameron Bruce

Jack Gunston (Adelaide), Jarrad Boumann (Western Bulldogs, GWS Giants), Broc McCauley (Brisbane Lions)

David Hale (150 games)