Main content

Phonse Kyne Award - services to the club will be taking an in-depth look into the Copeland Trophy in the lead up to this year’s gala event on October 5th. The history, the medals, and the winners will be featured in a series published on the club's website.

The Phonse Kyne Award is named in the honour of the two-time premiership player and premiership coach and is awarded to those who serve the club both on and off the field.

Phonse Kyne played 245 games for the mighty Magpies between 1934 and 1950, mainly as a forward-cum-ruckman.

Recruited from St Kevin's College Toorak, Kyne is one of only four players (along with Bob Rose, Nathan Buckley and Dane Swan) to win three consecutive E.W. Copeland Trophies (secured between 1946 and 1948).

He was a member of the Magpies' back-to-back flags in 1935 and 1936, and went on to coach the club to premiership success in 1953 and 1958.

Kyne's motivational speeches on Grand Final Day 1958 remain a prominent part of Collingwood folklore, as he urged his players to preserve the club's famous record of four premierships in a row against the all-conquering Melbourne.

The Phonse Kyne Award is received by a player or official who has served the Collingwood Football Club with the highest of distinction on or off the field. In recent years, loyal staff members Ann Martin, Rohan Bownds and Mick Dugina have received this prestigious award.

Darren Millane
(1988, 1989 and 1991) was a three time winner of the award and Lee Walker a two time recipient.

The Phonse Kyne Award
(Services to the Club)

1987 - Tony Shaw
1988 - Darren Millane
1989 - Darren Millane
1990 - Mick McGuane
1991 - Darren Millane
1992 - Paul Williams
1993 - Craig Starcevich
1994 - Jon Ballantyne
1995 - Lee Walker
1996 - Lee Walker
1997 - Scott Crow
1998 - Matthew Francis
1999 - Craig Jacotine
2000 - Shane Watson
2002 - Steve McKee
2003 - Tarkyn Lockyer
2004 - Paul Licuria
2006 - Heath Shaw
2007 - Rhyce Shaw
2008 - Brad Dick
2009 - Ann Martin
2010 - Rohan Bownds
2011 - Mick Dugina