Main content

Swan the Army's choice

Dane Swan breaks away from a Demon opponent on the Queen's Birthday in round 11.

Midfield maestro Dane Swan’s marvellous season has been recognised by the Collingwood faithful who voted him the Magpie Army Player of the Year.

Swan received a total of 6934 votes to finish ahead of Scott Pendlebury (5406) and Steele Sidebottom 3006.

It is yet another honour to be added to Swan’s swag of awards and comes on top of his 25 votes in last week’s Brownlow Medal count.

The 29-year-old was named in the All-Australian team for the fifth consecutive year and won both the ABC and Triple M’s Player of the Year awards.

About the award: The Magpie Army Player of the Year Award, proudly supported by, is received by the player deemed the most influential of the season by the Collingwood supporters each year.

After each match, all supporters are encouraged to vote for their best players (on a 3-2-1 voting system, with three votes allocated to the best player on the ground). At season's end, the player that receives the most votes is honoured with the Magpie Army Player of the Year Award at the Copeland Trophy Dinner.

Magpie Army Player of the Year Leaderboard
1. Dane Swan (6934 votes)
2. Scott Pendlebury (5406)
3. Steele Sidebottom (3006)
4. Harry O’Brien (2276)
5. Travis Cloke (2224)
6. Jamie Elliott (1343)
7. Luke Ball (1208)
8. Josh Thomas (1174)
9. Sam Dwyer (1149)
10. Ben Reid (1001)