Main content

Joseph Wren Memorial Trophy - Ben Moloney

Copeland: VFL best and fairest Watch Collingwood1s 2015 VFL best-and-fairest accept his award during the E.W. Copeland Trophy Dinner at Crown Palladium
Ben Moloney is the first VFL-listed Magpie to win the Joseph Wren Trophy since Kris Pendlebury in 2012.

Midfielder Ben Moloney has capped off the best year in his VFL career with victory in the Joseph Wren Memorial Trophy at the 2015 Copeland Trophy.

24-year-old Moloney polled 83 votes in the VFL Magpies Best and Fairest to lead runner up Jonathon Marsh (75 votes) and third-placed Ben Kennedy (73 votes).

Moloney proved a constant force for Collingwood’s VFL side in a season which produced a winning final for the first time since 2009.

Of the 54 players used by coach Dale Tapping throughout the season, Moloney’s tally of 19 games was more than all but three of his teammates.

In his 19 games, the midfielder led the Magpies in disposals (369), contested possessions (209), clearances (99) and tackles (134) and was named among the best players on seven occasions.

Moloney’s hard-nosed and consistent performances gained traction outside the walls of the Holden Centre when he was named in the 24-man VFL Team of the Year at the 2015 Liston Trophy in September.

How does Ben Maloney maintain that all-year-round tan? Find out HERE.

Earlier in the season, his name was raised as a potential mature-aged AFL recruit after a best-on-ground performance in the VFL Magpies upset victory over the Box Hill Hawks.

“He's got an AFL attitude and an AFL work ethic,” Tapping told Brett Diamond of The Age.

“He drives from Geelong three days a week. He certainly ticks all the boxes I suppose. It's great to see guys like that get the best out of themselves.”

Moloney’s presence as one of Collingwood’s most consistent VFL-listed players has allowed him to collect his first Joseph Wren Memorial Trophy, ahead of a raft of AFL-listed Magpies.

He becomes the first player not on Collingwood’s AFL list to win the award since Kris Pendlebury in 2012.

After the departure of 2013 and 2014 winner Kyle Martin at the conclusion of last season, Moloney joins just Dane Swan (2003) and Brent Macaffer (2008) as current Collingwood players who have won the time-honoured award.