Main content

Captain Copeland: Pendlebury wins again

A sixth All Australian honour? At 28 years old, Scott Pendlebury remains one of the AFL best players. Watch the captain's highlights after he was named in a 40-man All Australian squad.
Scott Pendlebury excelled once again in 2016, leading the Magpies in all 22 games of the home and away season.

Collingwood captain Scott Pendlebury has cemented a decade of dominance by winning his fourth consecutive E.W. Copeland Trophy, edging out fellow midfielder Adam Treloar at Crown Palladium this evening.

The trophy is Pendlebury’s fifth in six years, placing his name alongside Hall of Famer Len Thompson as a five-time winner. The pair are bettered only by Nathan Buckley who won the club’s best and fairest six times during his illustrious career.

The night was dominated by the midfield group; Pendlebury polled 164 votes, followed by Treloar on 145 and Steele Sidebottom with 115. Ruckman Brodie Grundy was rewarded for his imposing second half of the year finishing fourth (100), while Jeremy Howe’s move to the backline paid dividends as he rounded out the top five (81).

The E.W. Copeland Trophy is voted on by senior coach Buckley and his assistant coaches after each regular season match. The ever-reliable Pendlebury scored double figure votes in ten games, his highest tally (15) coming in the side’s convincing round eight win against Brisbane, the round 15 victory over Carlton and the nail biting one point loss to Hawthorn in the final match of the season. The skipper averaged 33 disposals across those three matches and 29 across the year.

Alex Fasolo and Treloar were the only players to poll a higher tally during any given round, securing 16 votes in round two and round 23 respectively.

It caps off a stellar first year as a Magpie for Treloar who proved a ball magnet in the midfield, picking up a career-high average of 29 disposals and six tackles a match.

The club’s Gavin Brown Award took on a new meaning this year, voted each week by the players. Polling mirrored the Copeland Trophy, with Pendlebury the runaway winner on 348 votes ahead of Treloar on 284.

Elevated rookie Josh Smith was the surprise result of the night, polling 78 votes to finish 7th, less than 12 months after working in childcare to support his university studies in Queensland. Fittingly, Smith was awarded the Harry Collier Trophy as the club’s best first year player.

Retiree Brent Macaffer was well recognised on the night, winning the highly regarded Darren Millane Memorial Trophy as best clubman and the Joseph Wren Trophy as the best VFL player.

Fellow retirees Dane Swan and Alan Toovey were also acknowledged alongside Macaffer in a presentation by President Eddie McGuire highlighting their outstanding contribution to the club.

Fasolo took home the Gordon Coventry Award as the club’s leading goal kicker despite playing just 12 games due to an unlucky run of injuries. The small forward averaged over two goals a match, kicking 25 for the year.

In an emotional presentation, long-time club boot studder Neil Price was recognised with the Phonse Kyne Award for his tireless hours of work at Collingwood over the past 20 years. From voluntarily selling raffle tickets to his role in the property department, ‘Neilo’ has been a much-loved figure across the entire club and received a rousing cheer from the audience of almost 1500.

Watch highlights from the event on

2016 E.W. Copeland Trophy Top Ten

1. Scott Pendlebury, 164 votes (E.W. Copeland Trophy)*
2. Adam Treloar, 145 (R.T. Rush Trophy)
3. Steele Sidebottom, 115 (J.J. Joyce Trophy)
4. Brodie Grundy, 100 (J.F. McHale Trophy)
5. Jeremy Howe, 81 (Jack Regan Trophy)
6. Taylor Adams, 79
7. Josh Smith, 78
8. Levi Greenwood, 73
9. Jack Crisp, 66
10. Jarryd Blair, 60

*Pendlebury has won the E.W. Copeland Trophy in 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016.

Other Awards

Darren Millane Memorial Trophy 
(Best Clubman) 
Brent Macaffer

Harry Collier Trophy (Best First Year Player) 
Josh Smith

Gavin Brown Award (Players’ Player) 
Scott Pendlebury

Gordon Coventry Award (Leading Goal Kicker) 
Alex Fasolo (25 goals)

Joseph Wren Trophy (VFL Best & Fairest) 
Brent Macaffer

Phonse Kyne Award (Services to the Club) 
Neil Price