Main content

Joseph Wren Trophy: Marty Hore

From undrafted to unearthed, VFL defender Marty Hore has capped off a career-best season by winning the Joseph Wren Memorial Trophy at the 2017 Copeland Trophy.

Awarded to the player deemed the best and fairest in Collingwood’s VFL program, Hore averaged 22 disposals and seven marks in his 15 matches for the Pies this season to edge out midfielders Gus Borthwick and Lachlan Tardrew.

Described by his coach Jared Rivers as one of the ‘shining lights’ for the VFL Pies in 2017, Hore established himself as a classy left-foot defender, entrusted for his intercept marking and adept kicking out of the back half.

The 21-year-old arrived at the Holden Centre at the beginning of 2016, and after two solid seasons of form in the reserves, has emerged as one of the bright young talents in the VFL.

The Joseph Wren Memorial Trophy completes a breakout season for Hore, who also received an invitation to the Victorian state combine, before being named in the VFL’s Team of the Year at the J.J Liston Trophy earlier this year.

In what was an up and down season for the VFL Pies on the park, the defender remained one of constant positives throughout the 2017 campaign.

Two of Collingwood’s most adored past players – Dane Swan and Brent Macaffer – were Joseph Wren Trophy winners, before going on to have successful careers with Collingwood’s senior side.

Joining Hore in having career-best seasons for the VFL Magpies was the dynamic midfield duo of Borthwick and Tardrew, who both worked tirelessly in the middle with their contested style of play.

Borthwick was the Pies’ best tackling and clearance players, while Tardrew used his pace and precision to lead the side in disposals.

Ruckman Mason Cox enjoyed a few purple patches of form in the VFL this season, kicking 25 goals in what was a dominant display by the American.

But perhaps the most exciting part of the VFL program in 2017 was small forward Kayle Kirby.

Finishing ninth in the Joseph Wren Memorial Trophy voting, the 19-year-old kicked 43 goals in his 17 appearances in the reserves, before going on to debut for the AFL side in round 23.

Embraced by the Magpie Army, Kirby electrified crowds and tormented his VFL opponents as he settled into life at Collingwood after being drafted to the club with pick No.50 in 2016.

Joseph Wren Memorial Trophy - Top Ten
1. Marty Hore, 82 votes
2. Gus Borthwick, 66
3. Lachlan Tardrew, 64
4. Mason Cox, 63
5. Jackson Ramsay, 60
6. Jarryd Blair, 58
7. Matt Scharenberg, 58
8. Chris Mayne, 53
9. Kayle Kirby, 51
10. Rupert Wills, 51