Main content

Draft: Where the Magpies stand

Draft Highlights: Isaac Quaynor Watch the under-18 highlights of Collingwood draftee Isaac Quaynor.

Collingwood will enter the second day of the 2018 National Draft with three selections up its sleeve.

The Magpies used one selection in the first round, matching Greater Western Sydney’s bid for Isaac Quaynor with pick No. 13.

Friday’s meeting will recommence at 12pm, starting with West Coast at pick No. 23.

What selections does Collingwood have up its sleeve?
The Magpies will begin the second day of the draft with selections No. 53, No. 54 and No. 64.

The club has the ability to match bids for Next Generation Academy and father-son prospects.

When is the Rookie Draft?
The Rookie Draft will be held at approximately 5pm on Friday following the conclusion of the National Draft.

What’s the lowdown on Quaynor?
The Collingwood Next Generation Academy prospect can play in defence and in the middle. The versatile Under-18 All-Australian defender can play on both medium and small opponents and is quick and agile. A good decision maker, Quaynor uses the ball effectively by hand and foot. The 18-year-old models his game on Bulldogs speedster Jason Johannisen and Demons defender Neville Jetta, and shapes as a top-20 pick on draft night. Quaynor also surprised himself, winning the goalkicking test at the Draft Combine with a perfect score.

The 2018 National Draft
The First Round

1. Sam Walsh (Carlton)
2. Jack Lukosius (Gold Coast)
3. Izak Rankine (Gold Coast)
4. Max King (St Kilda)
5. Connor Rozee (Port Adelaide)
6. Ben King (Gold Coast)
7. Bailey Smith (Western Bulldogs)
8. Tarryn Thomas (North Melbourne)
9. Chayce Jones (Adelaide)
10. Nick Blakey (Sydney)
11. Jye Caldwell (Greater Western Sydney)
12. Zak Butters (Port Adelaide)
13. Isaac Quaynor (Collingwood)
14. Jackson Hately (Greater Western Sydney)
15. Jordan Clark (Geelong)
16. Edward McHenry (Adelaide)
17. Sam Sturt (Fremantle)
18. Xavier Duursma (Port Adelaide)
19. Liam Stocker (Carlton)
20. Riley Collier-Dawkins (Richmond)
21. Ely Smith (Brisbane)
22. Xavier O’Halloran (Greater Western Sydney)