Main content

AFLW: New broadcast deal announced

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - OCTOBER 26:   Collingwood AFLW players Holly Whitford (L)  Katie Lynch and Jordy Allen (R) pose during the 2019 NAB AFLW Fixture Announcement on October 26, 2018 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Michael Dodge/AFL Media)
Collingwood's AFLW team will play its home games at Victoria Park in 2019

All 38 matches of next year's NAB AFL Women's competition will be shown live on television, with the Seven Network and Foxtel to share the coverage.

Seven will broadcast two games a round in every state and territory, plus all the non-Victorian clubs' matches into their respective local markets, on free-to-air television, with Foxtel to air every AFLW game live via its subscription service.

From 2020 – when the competition expands to 14 teams – Seven will broadcast three games each round, with Foxtel continuing to air every game live.

Both networks will broadcast all finals live across the country over the four-year broadcasting deal announced in Melbourne on Thursday morning.

FULL FIXTURE Check out when and where the Pies play

All matches will also be streamed live on Seven and Foxtel digital platforms and via the AFLW App.

The AFL's head of women's football Nicole Livingstone said the deal was significant for the AFLW competition and women's sport generally.

"The anticipation around season three of the AFLW continues to build and the new broadcast agreement is another important milestone in the journey we are on," she said.

"We are thrilled that every AFLW match will be broadcast live for at least the next four years.

 "We thank Seven and Foxtel for their fantastic commitment to and support of AFLW."

More to come