Main content

Monday's final team: Four changes

Debutant at his best in VFL Watch Tom Phillips on his way to collecting 33 disposals in the VFL last Saturday. Phillips has been named in Monday's 25-man squad to take on Melbourne.

Collingwood has confirmed four changes to its line up for the Queen's Birthday clash with Melbourne at the MCG.

Two players, Jonathon Marsh and Tom Phillips, will appear for their first game of the season, taking the number of players used to 38 after just 12 rounds.

They will be joined by Marley Williams and Jarrod Witts, who will play his first match since the opening round loss to Sydney.

Alan Toovey and Matthew Goodyear join Travis Cloke and Adam Oxley as the four players omitted.

Phillips, who will debut at the age of 20, was recruited with pick No. 58 in last November's National Draft.

A left-footed wingman, Phillips' consistency has been a feature of the VFL season to date. He collected 33 disposals and kicked three goals in last week's win over Werribee, and has been on the match committee's radar since ANZAC Day, when he was first named as an emergency.

Melbourne v Collingwood
Monday 13 June

B: Brayden Maynard, Ben Reid, Jeremy Howe
HB: Marley Williams, Jack Frost, Josh Smith
C: Tom Phillips, Adam Treloar, Steele Sidebottom
HF: Jordan De Goey, Jesse White, Travis Varcoe
F: Ben Crocker, Mason Cox, Jarryd Blair
Foll: Brodie Grundy, Scott Pendlebury, Jack Crisp
Int: Jarrod Witts, Jonathon Marsh, Levi Greenwood, Ben Sinclair
Emg: Alan Toovey, Nathan Brown, Matthew Goodyear

IN: Jarrod Witts, Jonathon Marsh, Tom Phillips, Marley Williams
OUT: Travis Cloke, Matthew Goodyear, Adam Oxley, Alan Toovey (omitted)
NEW: Tom Phillips (20, Oakleigh Chargers)

B: Jayden Hunt, Tom McDonald, Neville Jetta
HB: Billy Stretch, Oscar McDonald, Josh Wagner
C: Tomas Bugg, Christian Petracca, Bernie Vince
HF: Jack Trengove, Jack Watts, Aaron Vandenberg
F: Sam Frost, Jesse Hogan, Chris Dawes
Foll: Max Gawn, Nathan Jones, Dom Tyson
Int: Jack Viney, Clayton Oliver, Dean Kent, Ben Kennedy
Emg: Viv Michie, Jack Grimes, James Harmes

IN: Jack Viney Ben Kennedy
OUT: Jeff Gartlett, James Harmes (omitted)

EARLIER - Thursday, 6.25pm
is one of two omissions from a Collingwood squad named to take on Melbourne in Monday’s annual Queen’s Birthday clash.

Cloke and defender Adam Oxley have been left out of a side which lost to Port Adelaide by 69 points last Sunday.

Oxley had 13 disposals against the Power. Cloke also had 13 touches in a match that was described by coach Nathan Buckley post game as “serviceable”.  

The two omissions provide opportunity for a number of Collingwood players previously sitting outside the starting 22.

VIDEO: Watch the latest episode of Team Sheet now.

Marley Williams and Tom Phillips are in line to take on the Demons, while Jarrod Witts, Nathan Brown and Jonathon Marsh have been added to the Magpies’ extended bench.

If selected, Phillips will to become the fifth Collingwood player to debut this season.

Selected with pick 58 in the 2015 National Draft, the 20-year-old was a pre-season bolter during his first summer at the Holden Centre.

He dethroned Steele Sidebottom as Collingwood’s 2km time-trial champ in November before getting his first AFL experience against North Melbourne in round three of the NAB Challenge.

Phillips most recent game caught the attention of many as he won 33 disposals and kicked three goals in a best-on-ground VFL performance against Werribee.

In the same match, defender Williams played his best game since coming back from a toe injury a fortnight prior.

He has been named on the half-back flank, in a backline also consisting of former Demon Jeremy Howe.

Howe didn’t train with Collingwood’s main group on Thursday as he continued to struggle to overcome minor knee and abductor injuries.

“(Howe) was sore, there's no doubt,” Buckley said before training.

RAW: Watch Nathan Buckley's Thursday press conference in its entirety.

“He's been pretty important for us in the last month in that defensive role.”

Collingwood will train for the final time on Saturday before the final team to take on the Demons is named at 5pm on Saturday night.