TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest CTV

2018 Recap: Debutants

2:36pm  Oct 18, 2018

Ned Guy talks after trade night

9:20am  Oct 18, 2018

Beams talks to The Trade Table

8:55am  Oct 18, 2018

Jordan Roughead becomes a Magpie

9:33pm  Oct 17, 2018

Retired champions nominated by AFLPA

October 1, 2014 3:37 PM

Watch 2010 premiership captain Nick Maxwell announce his retirement to his Collingwood teammates.
Retiring Magpies Nick Maxwell and Luke Ball have been nominated for the AFLPA's Madden Medal.

Retiring Magpies Nick Maxwell and Luke Ball have been nominated for the AFLPA's Madden Medal.

Two of Collingwood’s retirees are among the 10 nominees for the AFL Players’ Association’s Madden Medal.

Premiership captain Nick Maxwell and champion midfielder Luke Ball are both in the running to receive the award that recognises the retiring player who has contributed the most to the game and the broader community.

The Madden Medal takes into account football achievement, personal development, community spirit and off-field engagement.

“The Madden Medal is an important opportunity to recognise the contribution and achievement of our recently retired players,” AFLPA CEO Paul Marsh told

“Each have had sensational playing careers, however we don’t talk enough about how much effort is involved in fulfilling an AFL career.

“Not many would be aware of how much players contribute to the community, so it’s important we highlight and celebrate these achievements.”

The award is named in honour of the Madden brothers, Simon and Justin.

2014 Madden Medal nominees
Ben Rutten (Adelaide), Jonathan Brown (Brisbane), Luke Ball (Collingwood), Nick Maxwell (Collingwood), Dom Cassisi (Port Adelaide), Daniel Jackson (Richmond), Lenny Hayes (St Kilda), Dean Cox (West Coast), Darren Glass (West Coast) and Daniel Giansiracusa (Western Bulldogs).

Past winners of the Madden Medal
2007 –
Glenn Archer (North Melbourne)
2008 – Robert Harvey (St Kilda)
2009 – Michael O’Loughlin (Sydney)
2010 – Brett Kirk (Sydney)
2011 – Cameron Ling (Geelong)
2012 – Luke Power (Brisbane/Greater Western Sydney)
2013 – Jude Bolton (Sydney)