TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest CTV

2018 Recap: Debutants

2:36pm  Oct 18, 2018

Ned Guy talks after trade night

9:20am  Oct 18, 2018

Beams talks to The Trade Table

8:55am  Oct 18, 2018

Jordan Roughead becomes a Magpie

9:33pm  Oct 17, 2018

New jumper numbers announced

December 21, 2017 5:00 PM

The Grind Ep5: Pre-Christmas gains Collingwood's worst mini-golfer and a Dane Swan copy-cat have emerged as pre-season continues at the Holden Centre. Tune in to episode five of The Grind as we check in with Daniel Wells, Ben Crocker, the club's Torquay camp and much more.

Collingwood has announced its jumper numbers for season 2018.

New recruit Sam Murray will wear the No. 9, most recently worn by a fellow former Swan, the retiring Jesse White.


Uncapped key position teenager Sam McLarty will inherit the No. 23, having spent 2017 in No. 35, as is tradition for the club’s first draft choice each year.

McLarty continues a tradition of sorts, for No. 23 has been worn with pride by key position Magpies in recent decades.

Craig Kelly (122 games between 1989 and 1996) wore No. 23 in the club’s drought-breaking premiership in 1990 before handing the reigns over to Anthony Rocca in 1997.

Rocca (220 games between 1997 and 2009) wore it for a further 13 seasons, while Lachlan Keeffe (40 games) then owned the jumper between 2011 and 2017.

McLarty is the only existing player to graduate to a new number.

Top draftees Jaidyn Stephenson will wear the No. 35, while Nathan Murphy will take No. 28, last worn by the retired Ben Sinclair.

Tyler Brown (No. 34) will be positioned at the opposite end of the locker room to his brother, Callum (No. 17), while rookies Flynn Appleby (No. 31), Brody Mihocek (No. 41) and Jack Madgen (No. 44) round out the playing list.

Collingwood’s jumper numbers for season 2018
1. Alex Fasolo
2. Jordan De Goey
3. Daniel Wells
4. Brodie Grundy
5. Jamie Elliott
6. Tyson Goldsack
7. Adam Treloar
8. Tom Langdon
9. Sam Murray
10. Scott Pendlebury
11. Jarryd Blair
12. Matthew Scharenberg
13. Taylor Adams
14. James Aish
15. Lynden Dunn
16. Chris Mayne
17. Callum Brown
18. Travis Varcoe
19. Levi Greenwood
20. Ben Reid
21. Tom Phillips
22. Steele Sidebottom
23. Sam McLarty
24. Josh Thomas*
25. Jack Crisp
26. Josh Daicos
27. Kayle Kirby
28. Nathan Murphy
29. Tim Broomhead
30. Darcy Moore
31. Flynn Appleby*
32. Will Hoskin-Elliott
33. Rupert Wills
34. Tyler Brown
35. Jaidyn Stephenson
36. Brayden Sier
37. Brayden Maynard
38. Jeremy Howe
39. Ben Crocker
40. Josh Smith
41. Brody Mihocek*
42. Retired in memory of the late Darren Millane
43. Adam Oxley*
44. Jack Madgen*
45. Max Lynch*
46. Mason Cox

No. 35
The number is worn by Collingwood’s first draftee each year since 2011, honouring the selflessness shown by Simon Prestigiacomo when withdrawing himself from the 2010 Grand Final.

2011 – Alex Fasolo
2012 – Jamie Elliott
2013 – Brodie Grundy
2014 – Matthew Scharenberg
2015 – Jordan De Goey
2016 – Brayden Sier
2017 – Sam McLarty
2018 – Jaidyn Stephenson