Jaimee Lambert has made Collingwood history by becoming the club’s first back-to-back winner of the AFLW best and fairest award.

The 27 year-old mid-fielder was a clear 2020 winner, polling 91 votes to finish 28 clear of Britt Bonnici (63 votes) and Brianna Davey (45 votes). 

A popular and not unexpected win, it was announced last night via a digital ceremony broadcast across all of Collingwood’s online and social media platforms.

The win continued a superb personal run of success for Lambert, who also received All-Australian honours late last month. 

In the last year, Lambert has twice won Collingwood’s AFLW best and fairest award, won her second Collingwood VFLW best and fairest award and shared in the club’s VFLW premiership.

“Jaimee is one of the elite players in the AFLW competition,” Collingwood AFLW coach, Steve Symonds, said.

 “She is driven, dedicated and talented. Jaimee is quiet by nature but her game is anything but.

 “It was a pleasure to coach and, at times, simply watch her play this year. She sets a competitive standard and plays with both relentless aggression and polish that is the way forward for the women’s game.”

01:04 Mins
Published on

AFLW: Jamiee Lambert highlights

Watch how our AFLW two-time best and fairest winner dominated in 2020.

Published on

The ceremony was also notable for the recognition former Collingwood and Australian netballer Sharni Layton received from her peers for her second AFLW campaign. 

Also recently honoured with All-Australian selection for her breakout year in the ruck, Layton won the Player’s Player award, which honours not only distinguished performance but empathy and care for team-mates and a commitment to team.

“Sharni made tremendous progress on the field this year, which is a credit to her and reward for the work she has put in over two years to make the transition from elite netballer to elite footballer,” Symonds said.

“Sharni has always been a tremendous cultural asset and it is particularly pleasing for her to be recognised not only for her game but for who she is.”

Bonnici, a foundation AFLW Magpie, added the award for best finals player to her second place finish in the best and fairest count, while Alana Porter and Aishling Sheridan shared the best first year player award. Jordan Membrey won the goal kicking award with a total of seven.

Best and Fairest Award presented by CGU

1st Jaimee Lambert (91 votes)

2nd – Brittany Bonnici (63 votes)

3rd – Brianna Davey (45 votes)

Player’s Player Award presented by AVID

Sharni Layton

Best Finals Player

Brittany Bonnici

Best First Year Player presented by Coles

Alana Porter and Aishling Sheridan

Leading goal kicker award presented by TAC

Jordan Membrey (7 goals)

Best & Fairest Award – Top 10

10th – Lauren Butler (11 votes)

Equal 8th – Chloe Molloy & Ash Brazill (13 votes)

7th – Sarah D’Arcy (16 votes)

6th – Stephanie Chiocci (19 votes)

5th – Stacey Livingstone (22 votes)

4th – Sharni Layton (38 votes)

3rd – Brianna Davey (45 votes)

2nd – Brittany Bonnici (63 votes)

1st – Jaimee Lambert (91 votes)

(All four coaches gave five players votes, in a 5-1 order, after each match (including the finals series). The maximum votes a player can receive per match is 20.)