Collingwood’s list for the 2019 season continues to take shape with a further four players recommitting to the club.

Forwards Josh Daicos and Brody Mihocek have each penned two-year deals while veteran Tyson Goldsack and midfielder Levi Greenwood will also continue their careers in black and white, both signing on for a further season.

The deals follow the recent re-signings of an additional seven Magpies, including Darcy Moore, Jamie Elliott and Tom Langdon.

Meanwhile, Collingwood will farewell premiership forward Jarryd Blair who has not been offered a contract for the 2019 season.

The 28-year-old started his career on the rookie list and found himself playing in the 2010 grand final just 12 weeks after his AFL debut.

He was presented with the Harry Collier Trophy as the club’s best first year player later that year and went on to win the Gavin Brown Desire Award in 2013.

An important player for the Pies initially through the midfield and later in attack, Blair was also a fabric player in the change room and exceptionally consistent. In the prime of his career, he lined up in at least 20 games for six consecutive seasons.

Blair managed 157 games over his nine years at the Holden Centre and featured in four finals campaigns, including three grand finals.

Teammates Adam Oxley, Josh Smith and Sam McLarty have also been informed that their contracts will not be extended.

Oxley, a rookie selection like Blair, played three games in 2018 for a career total of 34 matches across six seasons.

Fellow Queenslander, Smith, played 32 matches over three seasons in black and white, while McLarty was unable to make a senior team appearance in his two years on the Collingwood list.

Joining the departing Magpies is Kayle Kirby who has retired from AFL football. Kirby collapsed earlier this year in a pre-season VFL match due to a heart issue that he continues to manage. A mercurial talent, Kirby played one senior match in two seasons with the club.

Sam Murray, who is currently the subject of an ASADA investigation and serving a provisional suspension, will be delisted and redrafted as a rookie. As previously advised, Tim Broomhead will also be delisted with the promise of being with the club in 2019 as a rookie.

Collingwood acknowledges that Broomhead and Murray must be available to Collingwood in the rookie draft for these undertakings to be honoured.

Collingwood list manager Ned Guy thanked all five departing players for their contributions to the club.

“Each of these players has been important to our success this year in different ways, on and off the field,” Guy said.

“It’s never easy to say goodbye and we’re going to miss having these boys at the club. Jarryd, for example, has been a popular figure in the dressing room and around the club for almost a decade.

“We’d like to wish each of them the very best as they start the next chapter of their lives.”


IN: Dayne Beams (Brisbane), Jordan Roughead (Western Bulldogs)
OUT: Alex Fasolo (heading to Carlton as a free agent), Jarryd Blair (delisted), Adam Oxley (delisted), Josh Smith (delisted), Sam McLarty (delisted), Kayle Kirby (retired)