Main content

New jumper numbers announced

Jaidyn Stephenson will wear the No. 1 in season 2019 and beyond. - Collingwood,Collingwood Magpies,Jaidyn Stephenson
Jaidyn Stephenson will wear the No. 1 in season 2019 and beyond.

A new name will appear at the top of Collingwood’s team sheet every week in 2019.

Jaidyn Stephenson, he of the 26-game, 38-goal debut season, will trade in his No. 35 jumper for the No. 1 in his second season.

He follows in the footsteps of a linage of Magpies who wore the number for several seasons on end.

Stretching back as far as the early 1980s, Ricky Barham wore No. 1 in 108 games between 1980 and 1986, and Damian Monkhorst wore it in 191 games between 1990 and 1999.

Leon Davis had plenty of youngsters requesting the No. 1 on their jumper between 2001 and 2011, while most recently, Alex Fasolo wore the number in 88 games from 2012 until 2018.

Like Stephenson, Fasolo, too, shifted from the No. 35 having worn it in his debut season of 2011.

Since Fasolo’s debut season, each of Collingwood’s top draftees have worn the No. 35 for their first year, in a tradition honouring the selflessness and team-first attitude of Simon Prestigiacomo, who wore the number between 1996 and 2010.

Elsewhere, Dayne Beams will inherit his old premiership teammate Jarryd Blair’s No. 11 jumper. He wore No. 17 during his first stint at the club from 2009-2014. The number is now worn by Callum Brown.

Jordan Roughead will wear No. 23, just as he did during his nine seasons with the Western Bulldogs, while draftees Isaac Quaynor (No. 35), Will Kelly (No. 27) and Atu Bosenavulagi (No. 40) have already announced their new numbers.

Irish rookies Anton Tohill (No. 43) and Mark Keane (No. 47) round out the new additions to the 2019 playing list.

Tohill’s No. 43 is an unintended nod to fellow Irishman Marty Clarke, who wore the number in his first three years at Collingwood from 2007-2009.

Collingwood’s 2019 AFL Playing List
1. Jaidyn Stephenson
2. Jordan De Goey
3. Daniel Wells
4. Brodie Grundy
5. Jamie Elliott
6. Tyson Goldsack
7. Adam Treloar
8. Tom Langdon
9. Sam Murray*
10. Scott Pendlebury
11. Dayne Beams
12. Matthew Scharenberg
13. Taylor Adams
14. James Aish
15. Lynden Dunn
16. Chris Mayne
17. Callum Brown
18. Travis Varcoe
19. Levi Greenwood
20. Ben Reid
21. Tom Phillips
22. Steele Sidebottom
23. Jordan Roughead
24. Josh Thomas
25. Jack Crisp
26. Josh Daicos
27. Will Kelly
28. Nathan Murphy
29. Tim Broomhead*
30. Darcy Moore
31. Flynn Appleby*
32. Will Hoskin-Elliott
33. Rupert Wills
34. Tyler Brown
35. Isaac Quaynor
36. Brayden Sier
37. Brayden Maynard
38. Jeremy Howe
39. Ben Crocker
40. Atunaisa Bosenavulagi
41. Brody Mihocek
42. Retired
43. Anton Tohill*
44. Jack Madgen*
45. Max Lynch*
46. Mason Cox
47. Mark Keane**

*Denotes rookie
**Denotes Category B rookie