Brodie Grundy has surged into third place in the AFL Coaches' Association Champion Player of the Year award after an outstanding performance in the Pies' win over the Sydney Swans on Friday night.

Grundy's dominant display in the ruck earned him eight votes in the award and propelled him into outright third place on the leaderboard.

Scott Pendlebury is seventh after polling three votes for his effort against the Swans.

10 Sam Reid (SYD)
8 Brodie Grundy (COLL)
3 Luke Parker (SYD)
3 Scott Pendlebury (COLL)
3 Jack Crisp (COLL)
2 Adam Treloar (COLL)
1 Levi Greenwood (COLL)

57 Tim Kelly      
52 Patrick Cripps 
49 Brodie Grundy
44 Marcus Bontempelli
44 Lachlan Neale
40 Luke Shuey
38 Scott Pendlebury 
37 Gary Ablett 
37 Travis Boak
36 Ben Cunnington 
36 Nat Fyfe  
36 Lachie Whitfield
36 Elliot Yeo 
34 Tim Taranto
32 Ricky Henderson
31 Hugh McCluggage
29 Jeremy Cameron
29 Patrick Dangerfield  
29 Max Gawn
29 Rory Sloane