It’s a settled Collingwood outfit that will take on Essendon in Wednesday’s traditional ANZAC Day blockbuster at the MCG.

The Magpies will go into the match with the same line up that comprehensively beat the Crows at the Adelaide Oval in round four.

Injured top-liners Taylor Adams (hamstring) and Darcy Moore (hamstring) were among those who will not appear. Neither will Daniel Wells, who continued his return from injury in the VFL on Saturday.

An unchanged line up means Collingwood will have used 23 players in three games.

Since Mason Cox and Ben Reid returned for the round three win over Carlton, the Magpies have made only one move at the selection table, recalling Jordan De Goey in place of Adams last week.

It’s a sign of a team that is humming nicely.

Kids on the rise
Supporters will notice three new names on the emergency list.

Sam McLarty, Brayden Sier and Flynn Appleby will be on stand-by to make their senior debut on the biggest home and away stage after three weeks of fine VFL form.

They join Jarryd Blair as the potential eleventh-hour inclusions.

Blair himself is in great touch in the VFL, and has great memories of ANZAC Days gone by, having kicked the match winner back in 2012.

Sam McLarty is one of four players named as an emergency for ANZAC Day. Photo: Shane Barrie.

ANZAC Day debutants
As it stands, six Magpies are in line to make their ANZAC Day debuts.

Lynden Dunn, Matthew Scharenberg, Ben Crocker, Callum Brown, Jaidyn Stephenson and Sam Murray will all represent the club for the first time on 25 April.

Brown’s father, Gavin, played in five of the first six ANZAC Day matches, last appearing in 2000.

Collingwood v Essendon
AFL Round Five
Wednesday 25 April
MCG, 3.20pm


 Sam Murray, Lynden Dunn, Brayden Maynard
HB: Tom Langdon, Matthew Scharenberg, Jeremy Howe
C: Steele Sidebottom, Scott Pendlebury, Tom Phillips
HF: Jordan De Goey, Ben Reid, Will Hoskin-Elliott
F: Jaidyn Stephenson, Mason Cox, Callum Brown
Foll: Brodie Grundy, Adam Treloar, Josh Thomas
Int: Jack Crisp, Travis Varcoe, Ben Crocker, James Aish
Emg: Jarryd Blair, Sam McLarty, Brayden Sier, Flynn Appleby


Wednesday's match will mark the 24th annual ANZAC Day blockbuster at the MCG.