Three of Collingwood’s rising young stars have been recognised for their superb seasons with selection in the AFL Players’ Association’s 22Under22 Team of 2018.

Jordan De Goey, Tom Phillips and Jaidyn Stephenson were all nominated in the initial 40-man squad, and now figure in the final team which went to a public vote on the AFLPA’s website.

De Goey was named at half forward and Stephenson in a forward pocket, while Phillips was one of the four players named on the interchange bench.

The 22Under22 is in its seventh year, and De Goey, Phillips and Stephenson join Steele Sidebottom, Dayne Beams, Jamie Elliott, Jarrod Witts, Tom Langdon, Brodie Grundy and Darcy Moore as the Magpies to have been named in the team since the concept’s inception.

In season 2018
Jordan De Goey
17 games, 36 goals (ranked second at the club), 17.06 disposals per game, 1.94 marks inside 50 per game

Tom Phillips
22 games, 15 goals, 25.81 disposals per game, 7 matches with 30 or more disposals

Jaidyn Stephenson
22 games, 34 goals, 12.36 disposals per game, 10 running bounces

The AFL Players’ Association 22Under22 Team of 2018
B: Alex Witherden, Harris Andrews, Andrew McGrath
HB: Conor McKenna, Tom Doedee, Jayden Short
C: Angus Brayshaw, Clayton Oliver, Isaac Heeney
HF: Jade Gresham, Charlie Curnow, Jordan De Goey
F: Ben Ronke, Eric Hipwood, Jaidyn Stephenson
Foll: Sean Darcy, Marcus Bontempelli, Zach Merrett
Int: Ed Langdon, Christian Petracca, Tom Phillips, Dan Butler

Tom Phillips and Jordan De Goey celebrate a goal against Brisbane in round 21.

Initial 40-man squad
Defenders: Tom Doedee (Adelaide), Wayne Milera (Adelaide), Harris Andrews (Brisbane), Alex Witherden (Brisbane), Andrew McGrath (Essendon), Conor McKenna (Essendon), Ed Langdon (Fremantle), Lachie Weller (Gold Coast), Dougal Howard (Port Adelaide), Jayden Short (Richmond), Bailey Williams (Western Bulldogs)

Midfielders: Hugh McCluggage (Brisbane), Zac Fisher (Carlton), Tom Phillips (Collingwood), Zach Merrett (Essendon), Touk Miller (Gold Coast), Tim Taranto (GWS Giants), Jacob Hopper (GWS Giants), Angus Brayshaw (Melbourne), James Harmes (Melbourne), Clayton Oliver (Melbourne), Christian Petracca (Melbourne), Sam Powell-Pepper (Port Adelaide), Jack Steele (St Kilda), Isaac Heeney (Sydney), Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs), Toby McLean (Western Bulldogs)

Forwards: Eric Hipwood (Brisbane), Charlie Curnow (Carlton), Jordan De Goey (Collingwood), Jaidyn Stephenson (Collingwood), Bayley Fritsch (Melbourne), Alex Neal-Bullen (Melbourne), Dan Butler (Richmond), Jade Gresham (St Kilda), Ben Ronke (Sydney), Will Hayward (Sydney), Billy Gowers (Western Bulldogs)

Rucks: Sean Darcy (Fremantle), Tim English (Western Bulldogs)

Jaidyn Stephenson celebrates one of his 34 goals in his debut season.